cashew nut macaroons

Cashew Nut Macaroons

Wow! Cashew nut macaroons? I love it and so do all in my family. They are a popular sweet in Mangalore, light and delicate but quick and easy to make.  They are so tasty that it is finished off in no time. I have always loved them even as a child which would be available only in few bakeries and were quite expensive, so rarely ate it.   Although I am still very fond of it, I feel the ones available in shops these days are too sweet.    I found this recipe many years ago and ever since I have been making it every year for Christmas. This is my daughter’s favorite and I am really missing her this Christmas season, but will make it for her whenever she visits next year. 

1 big egg white

1 cup castor /powdered sugar

¼ tsp baking powder

2cups chopped cashew nuts (unsalted)

½ tsp vanilla essence

Take a bowl and beat the egg white very well with an electric beater until it becomes very foamy.  Add the sugar little by little and beat again for another three minutes.  The baking powder and the essence can be added now, beat it well again.  Now add the chopped cashew nuts and mix it gently with a spatula.  Grease a baking tray with butter.  Drop a tea spoonful of this mixture in the baking tray, space those few inches apart and bake it in the oven at 180°C for 18-20 minutes.

Don’t you feel this is quite simple? This is a lovely Christmas treat, so add this to your list.

5 thoughts on “Cashew Nut Macaroons”

Leave a comment